top of page
Search
Writer's pictureJessica Amy

The return of those fourth trimester hormones..


It’s taken me about 2 weeks to post this as I know it may seem silly that I snapped a photo of me mid tears, however there is a point to my so called madness.


It was about 3am, I was up with Hardy. Kaiden had also been up with his teeth. But besides being ridiculously tired, I actually have no idea why I was crying so much, so I took this photo to remind me that this phase will also pass. I had completely forgotten about the confusing emotions the 4th trimester brings . You love your baby so much, you may be relieved you’re not pregnant anymore, and you should most definitely feel like a bad ass because you have just given birth to another human, however, then this roller coaster of feelings hits you, and you can’t even explain why. Hormones, tiredness and a whole lot of others things all play a part, and that’s why it’s so important to look after yourself! . Some days I was totally fine, and other days, you could literally ask me if I wanted a cup of tea, and I would probably burst into tears.


All of our energy is put into your newborn (and other children if you have them) that we often forget to look after ourselves, and unfortunately, sometimes others forget to ask about the Mum also. It’s not anyone’s fault, it’s just that usually everyone will put their focus on the new baby, even though there are two people who need to be cared for, and to have support - the mum and the baby. . I don’t have this blog or mum page to tell you all about the butterflies and rainbows (although theres a lot) I have it to tell you the truth.


Motherhood is the most rewarding job in the world, but it also comes with challenges and sacrifices. Having those up and down emotions in those first few weeks post birth also doesn’t mean something is wrong with you, or that maybe you have PND, it just means you're trying to juggle everything, including the fluctuations in your hormones. And when your milk comes in, it’s a whole different story.

So I took this photo to let you know that I’m still just a mum who has emotions, who is tired, and who maybe just needs some chocolate. . I’m just being a mum...see what I did there.

42 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page