top of page
Search
Writer's pictureJessica Amy

Breastfeeding - What they don't tell you in Pre-Natal classes

Updated: Mar 28, 2019


Breastfeeding ... The whole milk coming out of your boobs thing. As a breastfeeding mother, you're basically just meals on heels, or Uber eats for your newborn. When I was pregnant I did a lot of reading on breastfeeding, how to breast feed and the do's and don't's. I even attended a breastfeeding class, where we discussed the size of baby's bellies, how much milk they require and the different latching techniques. Exciting stuff hey. Who would have thought there would be chart identifying a baby's poo colour based on their age and amount of milk received. Although all this information was very useful, there was so much to learn, and for me, I was pretty shocked when I actually started breastfeeding.


When you hear about breastfeeding, you think 'Yeah milk comes out, gradually and somewhat slowly, while the baby sucks at your nipple'. Well I learnt quickly that that information was very much incorrect in my case. Think of a water pistol, with multiple nozzles, squirting milk out in various directions. Kaiden would get so excited while drinking that he would quickly pull off to breathe, and of course, would get skirted all over the face. He didn't seem to care though. Don't get me wrong, breastfeeding is special bonding moment with your baby, and I am absolutely love it. It can just be a lot more complicated and a lot less elegant than what the breastfeeding brochures make it out to be. The first time, it definitely feels weird, and sore. Don't be alarmed if there is some grazing - totally normal. Put some of your breastmilk on it, it honestly fixes EVERYTHING. Another superpower of ours.


And then there's the leaking. I knew your boobs could possibly leak with milk if they were full or when the baby was due for a feed, but I didn't know that one would leak while you fed off the other. Goodbye nice clothing. Breastfeeding can already be difficult, without having to somehow cover the other boob from leaking milk everywhere. I don't think I have ever washed pyjamas as much as I have since having Kaiden. Oh and bed sheets.. leaking all over the bed during the night is not an uncommon situation in my house atm. The joys of breastfeeding and just being a mum.


A silver lining though, Avent breast pads have been a lifesaver. Yes, they can be uncomfortable and an extra inconvenience to add to your daily routine, but I would definitely recommend wearing them to avoid that glorious milk shining through. The Avent breast pads are excellent, and include both day and night ones. You can currently pick up a pack of 60 at Baby Bunting for $11.21.


I was very lucky in the breastfeeding category. Kaiden and I seemed to work quite well with each other in quickly learning positions and latching techniques. However, for those that are struggling with it, don't be so hard on yourself. Yes, it may seem easier for others, but you will get there. It just means you and your baby need some more practice. And if it just doesn't work at all for you, for whatever reason, don't stress. Are you feeding your baby? Yes? Then who cares. It's like asking an adult would they prefer any type of alcohol or none at all. I can guarantee what their answer would be. So don't be so hard on yourself, you know what to do. Just be a mum.


xx Jessica







Milk drunk
95 views0 comments

Commentaires


bottom of page