top of page
Search
Writer's pictureJessica Amy

My First Mother's Day


Now I know I am a couple days late #mumlife, but these days I have learnt to lower my expectations on what I can get done in 24 hours. As long as Kaiden is changed, fed and happy, then I know I am doing everything I am meant to :)


Mother's Day is a day where we show appreciation to all the amazing mothers out there, whether they be your biological mum, your step mum, your angel mum or your adopted mum - they are all mums. On Sunday I celebrated my first Mother's Day, and what a special day it was. We had a beautiful breakfast with both families, celebrating our mothers, grandmothers and great grandmothers. It felt pretty weird knowing that I was now entitled to celebrate this day, and that all the presents 'for mums' included me. Shaun got me the most beautiful necklace with 'Kaiden' engraved on it. So sweet. Kaiden was also wearing a personalised 'Happy Mother's Day Mum' onesie. Loved all of it! Definitely need to start planning Father's Day now! Being Kaiden's mum is such an honour, and I couldn't imagine my life without him. It's funny how such a little human can have such a massive impact on your life in a short amount of time. Kaiden is definitely the greatest gift, and nothing could ever top that. And for Mother's Day, Kaiden is the only thing I needed.


One thing I have definitely learnt since becoming a mum is how much more I appreciate my own mother. I always knew how much my mum did for me, and have always appreciated the overflowing love and support she has provided, but since having Kaiden, I have realised how patient, loving, hands-on and adoring she is, all while still experiencing the many aspects (good and challenging) of motherhood. I think as the child you don't see the 'behind the scenes' parts of parenthood. You just see the presents, the food, the school pickups and family holidays. However, as you get older, and then become a parent yourself, you gain a deeper appreciation of your own parents and everything they did/do for you. My mum is an unbelievable mum. She truly is the most amazing woman I know, and I cannot imagine my life without her in it. Since having Kaiden I feel like a rely on her a lot more. She's been there before, and knows what to expect in the first few months of being a new mum. I love listening to her advice. I think there is something about asking your mum for guidance that just makes you that little bit more calmer and relaxed knowing you're doing a good job. So although it was my first Mother's Day, and I loved celebrating being Kaiden's mum, I also loved celebrating my own mum, and Kaiden's Nanna.


A mum is someone who sacrifices her body, sleep, social life, eating hot meals, long showers (or just showers haha), energy and sanity for LOVE. They are the ones with the tired eyes, yet smiles full of happiness. They are the ones that will put everyone and everything before themselves, and the ones that are always your biggest supporters. Mothers are our superheroes, and I'm so blessed to be called one.


I hope all the mothers out there had a magical mothers day.


Sending love always,


Jessica xxx

My mum




30 views0 comments

Commentaires


bottom of page